Sattler's Christmas parade the 'best ever'

The Canyon Lake Chamber of Commerce's 26th Annual Christmas Parade was held Saturday, December 11, in Sattler. Hundreds of spectators enjoyed spring-like weather for what many were calling Sattler's best Christmas parade ever.

Parade Highlights:

Santa's Award: Turkey Cove Royal Court

First Place, Christmas Past: Comal County Democrats

Second Place, Christmas Past: Wells Fargo Bank

Third Place, Christmas Past: St. Francis By-The-Lake Episcopal Church

First Place, Christmas Present: Lake Point Resort

Second Place, Christmas Present: Canyon Lake Little League

Third Place, Christmas Present: Pilot Club of Canyon Lake

First Place, Christmas Future: Mountain Valley School

Second Place Christmas Future: Order of the Eastern Star

Third Place, Christmas Future: Falun Dafa


The Canyon Lake Chamber of Commerce had a wonderful entry this year thanks to the efforts of Lisa Roper, Parade Float Chairman and her committee. The miniature sleigh carried Santa and Mrs. Claus (Mud and Neva Bosco), accompanied by children from Kiddie Kollege Day Care, Tonya Waller, Allison and Jamie Andrews, Hannah and Isaac Fehrenbach and Mrs. Audrey Andrews (watching over them). Instead of eight miniature reindeer, Santa was pulled by Chamber volunteer, Leo Kuentz's truck, accompanied by Mike Burns and Betty Howie.

Co-Chairs, Terry and Val Schroller (APC Pest Control), and Eddy and Crystal Gottfried, plus the Chamber Board of Directors and Staff extend our most sincere thanks to all the fantastic parade participants; Centex Wing of the Commemorative Air Force (Clint Epley), Comal County Sheriff's Office (Sheriff Bob Holder, Sgt. W. R. Poindexter, Cpl. Ken Joyce) , Comal County Road Department, Comal County REACT, Constables Ben Scroggin, Shane Rapp and Alan Svoboda, Grand Marshal, Ed Wetzel (our Mr. Parade for 11 years), Comal County Judge Danny Scheel, Commissioner Jack Dawson, Judge Charles Stephens, Judge Brenda Chapman, Comal County Clerk Joy Streater, District Clerk Kathy Faulkner and Justice of the Peace Jennifer Saunders.

We also thank Kay MacDonald and the AmeriPoint Title Company, for hosting

Continued on p. 14


our breakfast reception for officials and our military guests, Joint Services Ambassadors and Randolph Air Force Base Honor Guard Award Winners. Debbie Van Scyoc was wonderful as our Master of Ceremonies for the second year, and we appreciate the help of Ola Armstrong in arranging the participation of our Parade Judges, Barbara Snyder, Patsy Meckel, Kathy Schiller, Gloria Adkinson, Cindy Havens, and Paige Reeves.

Special thanks to the member of the San Antonio Classic Thunderbird Club who carries our dignitaries and Grand Marshal in the parade each year, Energy Plus Lighting/ O'Donnell Enterprises for providing the electricity for our PA system, and to Canyon Lake Golf Club for the use of golf carts.

The weather was too gorgeous for words and the crowds were Christmas cheerful!

List of Entries:

Comal County Sheriff's Posse

Canyon Lake Fire/EMS

Comal County REACT Team # 4804

Canyon High School Band

Canyon Lake Republican Women

American All-Star Gymnastics & Cheer

Cowboys for Jesus Christian Fellowship

Comal County Sheriff's Office - Tim Kolbe with McGruff NeighborhoodWatch

Boy Scout Troop 548

VFW Post 8573 - Sattler

Turkey Cove Royal Court

Betty Neumeyer Furniture Restoration

H & R Block

Joint-Service Float

Guadalupe Valley Telecommunications Cooperative

Mountain Valley School

St. Francis By The Lake Episcopal Church

Hill Country Christian Church

Order of the Eastern Star

Fraternal Order of Canyon Men

Wells Fargo Bank

Alzafar Shrine

Elf Tabatha

Pedernales Electric Cooperative (carried Chamber 2005 President-elect, Laurie Whitmire and 1st Vice President Elect, Mark Robinson with son Brandon, and the Team Randolph Honor Guard Award Winners, SSgt Eric Bowman and SSgt Michelle Kern)

Canyon Lake Animal Shelter Society

Lake Point Resort

U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary

Canyon Animal Clinic

Friends of Canyon Lake

Comal County Democrats

CRRC North Pole Village

Canyon Lake Noon Lions Club

Red Hat Chicks

Heritage Trail Ride Association of New Braunfels, Inc.

Falun Dafa

Mickey Ferrell Realtors

Pilot Club of Canyon Lake

Bryan Keene with Truckin' Texas

AWANA Hill Country Bible Church

The Summit Vacation Resort

Century 21 United Action

San Antonio Stock Show & Rodeo Ambassadors Committee

The Litehouse

Smithson Valley Middle School Band

Premier Health and Fitness Center

Canyon Lake Youth soccer

Canyon Lake Little League

Ricky Henderson's Themeworks

Ronald Keen

Joe Lovelace, Turkey Cove Auto

Home Page

    contact us

Subscribe   Get the Times Guardian delivered to your doorstep each week.
Advertise   We'll help you reach your customers in print or online.
News Tips   Submit story ideas or news tips.
Opinion   Send a letter to the editor.

Copyright © 2004 Times Guardian. All rights reserved.